White Stripes FInal Show, Early Recordings & More Getting Vault Release

The duo's first two singles, their final show, a DVD and more await fans who aren't ready to say goodbye...

Johnny Firecloudby Johnny Firecloud
(L) Jack White, photo by Rene Johnston (Toronto Star via Getty Images); (R) Meg White, photo by Timothy Cochrane (Photoshot/Getty Images).

It’s been two months since The White Stripes officially headed up to the great candycane factory in the sky, but that doesn’t mean we’ll be seeing any shortage of the duo in the coming months.

In addition to the Record Store Day reissue of the band’s first two singles, Jack White’s Third Man Records in Nashville has announced a barrage of Stripes-related goods for the eighth installment of its fanclub subscription program, The Vault.

Items include:

– A live recording of the band’s final performance on July 31st, 2007 in Southaven, Mississippi. Entitled Live in Mississippi, the record is presented in crystalline audio quality and spread across 2 LPs pressed on 180-gram vinyl.

– A 7″ single featuring some of the band’s earliest recordings. The a-side is “Signed DC” originally done by the band Love on their self-titled debut record from 1966. The flipside is a rendition of the Otis Redding classic “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long.” “Recorded in Detroit in September of 1997 a mere two months after the Stripes’ live debut, this single provides a heretofore unheard era of the band,” explains Third Man. “Although their debut single ‘Let’s Shake Hands’ wouldn’t be released for another eight months, this recording shows how fully-formed the general idea, aesthetic and approach of the White Stripes was from the very start.”

– A DVD entitled Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night featuring previously unseen footage from the band’s June 13, 2000 gig at Ralph’s Corner Bar in Moorhead, Minnesota. The performance was one their first following the release of their sophomore album, De Stijl, and featured a cover of Iggy Pop’s “I’m Bored”.

The cost of a Vault membership is no joke ($70 each season), but fans of Mr. White know a good value when they see it. To become a member yourself, or just to learn more, head to the Third Man Records Modlife page.

Live in Mississippi Tracklist:
01. Stop Breaking Down (Robert Johnson)

02. Let’s Build a Home

03. When I Hear My Name

04. Icky Thump

05. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground/As Ugly As I Seem

06. The Same Boy You’ve Always Known

07. Wasting My Time

08. Phonograph Blues (Robert Johnson)

09. Cannon/John the Revelator (Traditional)

10. Death Letter (Son House)

11. Astro

12. Apple Blossom

13. You Don’t Know What Love Is (You Do As You’re Told)

14. In the Cold, Cold Night

15. I Want to Be the Boy to Warm Your Mother’s Heart

16. Hotel Yorba

17. A Martyr For My Love For You

18. Ball and Biscuit

19. 300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues

20. Blue Orchid

21. I’m Slowly Turning Into You

22. Boll Weevil

Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night Tracklist:
01. Let’s Shake Hands

02. Screwdriver

03. Wasting My Time

04. Jolene (Dolly Parton)

05. Little Bird

06. Apple Blossom

07. You’re Pretty Good Looking (for a Girl)

08. Your Southern Can is Mine (Blind Willie McTell)

09. Suger Never Tasted So Good

10. Truth Doesn’t Make a Noise

11. I’m Bored (Iggy Pop)

12. Cannon/John the Revelator (Traditional)